The Mini 6.50, although tiny in length, are perfect for crossing the Atlantic: fast and reliable. They are divided into two categories of boats, for two different states of mind.

Prototype boats

true laboratories for naval architects

Prototypes represent a unique category of boats. They are truly state-of-the-art sailing boats which, for the most part, only exist as a single specimen and have a relatively open measurement standards.

As proof, the only condition to be respected is the 6.50m length. It is therefore the ideal model to test new ideas such as the Scow type bows that are gradually starting to spread to other classes.

Today, a high-performance prototype is still made of carbon, with daggerboards, ballast tanks and even, foils. In a nutshell, a machine both in technology and racing.

Production boats

allowing sailors to make a difference

Since the beginning of the 90s, another category of boat was born, production boats. The latest category must meet stricter measurement standards and exist in several specimens (at least ten). No carbon for the hull design, nor for the mast design. No daggerboards or ballasts either. The idea is as follows, to limit as much as possible the differences between production boats in order to control costs and make the support accessible to the greatest number, but also and above all, it is the sailor who makes the difference.

Today, there are several kinds of production boats on the circuit: the Nacira, the Super Calin, the Argo, the Ofcet, the Pogo 1, 2 and 3, the Dingo, the Ginto, the Maxi 6.50, the Vector 6.50, etc. Each one has its own assets.

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider

Les Mini 6.50, bien que minuscules avec leur 6.50 m de longueur, sont parfaits pour traverser l’Atlantique : rapides et fiables. Ils sont divisés en deux catégories de bateaux, pour deux états d’esprit différents.

Les prototypes

véritables laboratoires pour les architectes navals

Les prototypes représentent une catégorie de bateaux bien particulière : ce sont des voiliers à la pointe de la technologie qui, pour la plupart, n’existent qu’en un seul exemplaire et qui disposent d’une jauge très libre.

Pour preuve : la seule condition à respecter est de faire 6.50 m de long. C’est donc le jouet idéal pour tester de nouvelles idées comme les étraves de type Scow qui commencent petit à petit à se répandre dans d’autres classes.

Aujourd’hui, un prototype performant est toujours en carbone, avec des dérives, des ballasts et même, désormais, des foils. En somme : une petite bête de technologie… et de course.

Les séries

pour que le marin fasse encore plus la différence

Depuis le début des années 90, il existe une autre catégorie : celle des bateaux de série. Ces derniers répondent à une jauge plus stricte et existent en plusieurs exemplaires (au minimum dix). Pas de carbone pour la conception des coques, ni pour celle des mâts. Pas de dérives ni de ballasts non plus. L’idée est la suivante : limiter au plus possible les différences entre bateaux de série pour maîtriser les coûts et rendre le support accessible au plus grand nombre, mais aussi et surtout pour que ce soit le marin qui fasse la différence.

Aujourd’hui, il existe plusieurs sortes de bateaux de séries sur le circuit : les Nacira, les Super Calin, les Argo, les Ofcet, les Pogo 1, 2 et 3, les Dingo, les Ginto, les Maxi 6.50, les Vector 6.50, etc… Chacun ayant ses propres atouts.

previous arrow
next arrow
Slider